Home | Networks | Community | Need Help? 

 
 Quick search

 
 
 RegisterRegister   Log inLog in 

People wanted to visit there lame site

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    SearchIRC Forum Index -> IRC networks
Author Message
SasukeUchiha
Lurker
Lurker


Joined: 01 Dec 2007
Posts: 114
Location: California

PostPosted: Dec 24, 2007 2:05am    Post subject: People wanted to visit there lame site Reply with quote

Hello...We've has people come to IRC and post there lame site on the server...Has anyone had a person spam there PM just for you to see it?


Example:

[20:29] <fg> go to www.[deleted].com
And

[20:31] <fg> hey guys, check out a really cool chatsite which has actual people chatting! www.[deleted].com
[20:31] <fg> this place sucks.
[20:31] <fg> go to www.[deleted].com
[20:32] * fg (CW@CW-5D110E29.tampfl.dsl-w.verizon.net) Quit ( Quit: A bientôt )
Back to top
katsklaw
Guru
Guru


Joined: 28 Jun 2004
Posts: 1029

PostPosted: Dec 24, 2007 6:50am    Post subject: Reply with quote

This happens all the time on IRC, especially the big nets. There is nothing SearchIRC can do about it except advise you to complain to the admin of the networ you were connected to at the time or if it's netowkr you should learn how to use spamfilters and other tools to help block this stuff.
Back to top
SkaterStuff
Lurker
Lurker


Joined: 11 Oct 2005
Posts: 156

PostPosted: Dec 28, 2007 3:46pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

and when you came here and posted there link here you just spammed there site for them Smile
Back to top
katsklaw
Guru
Guru


Joined: 28 Jun 2004
Posts: 1029

PostPosted: Dec 28, 2007 3:49pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

SkaterStuff wrote:
and when you came here and posted there link here you just spammed there site for them Smile


hopefully here most users are smart enough not to click any of the links.
Back to top
Jason
SearchIRC Developer
SearchIRC Developer


Joined: 03 May 2003
Posts: 1136
Location: Tampa, FL

PostPosted: Dec 28, 2007 4:51pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

for all I know, the OP could be the spammer, and is using this forum to span in a different venue. I've modified the URL so we don't help the spammer out.
Back to top
mthwgrn
none
none


Joined: 09 Dec 2007
Posts: 28

PostPosted: Dec 29, 2007 11:41pm    Post subject: not in this case Reply with quote

I'm not sure who the person is who started this thread. But I remember that log he posted from my network. Someone entered our network through the java on our site and spammed. It was pretty lame.

Just FYI, it was the netadmin of irc network [zap!], a chatspace network (windows). I went to his network as I spoke with him about linking his chat sites to mine probably a week before. He klined me and sent me a message to remove his links from my site because I was the spammer. LOL

I think he was angry because I posted his hostname and asked him why he spammed me in front of his other admins. Jason, I think I have the logs if for some reason someone is curious to see it. As I said I am not sure who the thread starter is and my network is small so I'll ask around and see if it is anyone of my admins. But like you said it could be the owner of the spammed web site trying to be sly.

And also, thanks mods for deleting the url from the thread starter.
Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    SearchIRC Forum Index -> IRC networks All times are GMT - 6 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
 
Forum powered by phpBB
 
 © 2000 - 2008 EverythingIRC, Inc. All rights reserved. Please read our disclaimer