Home | Networks | Community | Need Help? 

 
 Quick search

 
 
 RegisterRegister   Log inLog in 

e-mail issues

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    SearchIRC Forum Index -> IRC Help
Author Message
DragonRyder
none
none


Joined: 26 Nov 2005
Posts: 11

PostPosted: Jun 25, 2007 7:44pm    Post subject: e-mail issues Reply with quote

Hello,
This is my third time trying to get my network added. I have tested with other services, to see if i get e-mails form them, and I do.
How do I go about getting my network added to SearchIRC?
Thanks for any assistance.
Ryu
XeroMem Network Co-Owner
Back to top
Jobe
Idler
Idler


Joined: 30 Jul 2006
Posts: 366
Location: Lurking in the shadows of some random channel!

PostPosted: Jun 26, 2007 7:37am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
If your email is properly configured and you did not get the validation email, please see this thread for a possible reason why


Did you read that?
Back to top
DragonRyder
none
none


Joined: 26 Nov 2005
Posts: 11

PostPosted: Jun 26, 2007 8:06am    Post subject: Reply with quote

yes i read that, and yes it is setup correctly.

i had the webmaster check the email settings 5 times now and everything is setup correctly, and nothing is going into our spam boxes either.

which is why i do not know how to resolve this.

can you help me?
Back to top
Jobe
Idler
Idler


Joined: 30 Jul 2006
Posts: 366
Location: Lurking in the shadows of some random channel!

PostPosted: Jun 26, 2007 2:21pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Since people are still receiving email comfirmations after you didnt I can pretty much therefore garuntee the issue is your end.

Your best place to start is the smtp logs. See if the server is even being connected to.
Back to top
DragonRyder
none
none


Joined: 26 Nov 2005
Posts: 11

PostPosted: Jun 26, 2007 2:45pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

from my email i have these:
Quote:
06/09/2007 - Ryu - test 4 KB
06/09/2007 - Eric - high 2 KB


and as far as my network goes:

Quote:
================================================
-= XeroMem Server Stats =-
================================================
[Tue. Jun. 26 2007 4:44pm] *** Current Connected Users: 924
[Tue. Jun. 26 2007 4:44pm] *** Total Invisible Users: 510
[Tue. Jun. 26 2007 4:44pm] *** Total Servers: 10
[Tue. Jun. 26 2007 4:44pm] *** Total IRCops Connected: 20
[Tue. Jun. 26 2007 4:44pm] *** Total Channels Formed: 94
[Tue. Jun. 26 2007 4:44pm] *** Total Client Servers: 8
================================================
[Tue. Jun. 26 2007 4:44pm] *** Total Local User(s): 3
[Tue. Jun. 26 2007 4:44pm] *** Max Local User(s): 11
[Tue. Jun. 26 2007 4:44pm] *** Total Global User(s): 1434
[Tue. Jun. 26 2007 4:44pm] *** Max Global User(s): 1960
================================================


my network is setup correctly and so is my email.

Ryu@xeromem.com

check it for yourself.
Back to top
DragonRyder
none
none


Joined: 26 Nov 2005
Posts: 11

PostPosted: Jun 26, 2007 7:20pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

and i know the email works - cause i have had over 17 emails form this one posting alone - and yes i am sure there are others all blocked by spam filters.

so i know the email works and is not on my end of things.
Back to top
Jobe
Idler
Idler


Joined: 30 Jul 2006
Posts: 366
Location: Lurking in the shadows of some random channel!

PostPosted: Jun 27, 2007 4:17am    Post subject: Reply with quote

DragonRyder wrote:
and i know the email works - cause i have had over 17 emails form this one posting alone - and yes i am sure there are others all blocked by spam filters.


Chances are as posted in the other thread, the SearchIRC emails are getting blocked by a spamfilter. If not your email server ISNT set up correctly, despite your claim. For the record it is possible to receive emails even when the email server isnt set up properly.
Back to top
DragonRyder
none
none


Joined: 26 Nov 2005
Posts: 11

PostPosted: Jun 27, 2007 8:59am    Post subject: Reply with quote

i had it all checked and i am pretty sure my webmaster knows what he is doing considering he has been doing this for over 10+ years.

and we checked the spam filters, SearchIRC is set to be allowed to email all clients with accounts @ xeromem.com.

i had the exact same mail system when i ran maximum-irc.com and had no issues then. now all of a sudden i am supposed to have issues with my email system just cause i changed the networks name and gave it a new life.

all i am trying to do is get XeroMem added to the search engine of SearchIRC.
Back to top
Jobe
Idler
Idler


Joined: 30 Jul 2006
Posts: 366
Location: Lurking in the shadows of some random channel!

PostPosted: Jun 27, 2007 9:55am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Is that XeroMem.com which as far as I can see from a few basic DNS tests has NO MX records? Which can stop a lot of mail servers sending you emails (although theyre supposed to resort back to A records if no MX record)
Back to top
Jason
SearchIRC Developer
SearchIRC Developer


Joined: 03 May 2003
Posts: 1184
Location: Tampa, FL

PostPosted: Jun 27, 2007 8:07pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

just checked the maillog. I only found your domain listed twice:

Quote:
Jun 25 11:17:09 dionysus postfix/cleanup[26584]: 53B8E82B6C: message-id=<200706251517.l5PFH8LO026582@dionysus.searchirc.com>
Jun 25 11:17:09 dionysus sendmail[26582]: l5PFH8LO026582: to=[DELETED]@xeromem.com, ctladdr=apache (48/48), delay=00:00:01, xdelay=00:00:00, mailer=relay, pri=30893, relay=[127.0.0.1] [127.0.0.1], dsn=2.0.0, stat=Sent (Ok: queued as 53B8E82B6C)

Jun 25 11:17:40 dionysus postfix/smtp[26585]: 53B8E82B6C: to=<[DELETED]@www.xeromem.com>, relay=www.xeromem.com[217.160.247.196], delay=31, status=bounced (host www.xeromem.com[217.160.247.196] said: 553 sorry, that domain isn't in my list of allowed rcpthosts (#5.7.1) (in reply to RCPT TO command))
Back to top
Jobe
Idler
Idler


Joined: 30 Jul 2006
Posts: 366
Location: Lurking in the shadows of some random channel!

PostPosted: Jun 28, 2007 5:31am    Post subject: Reply with quote

DragonRyder, to clarify those logs for you, they show 1 of 2 things.

1. That you havnt set up a MX record in your DNS (as I said above) to tell mail servers which is the real email server for your domain
2. It got the right IP address for your email server but the email server is most definatly not set up correctly.
Back to top
DragonRyder
none
none


Joined: 26 Nov 2005
Posts: 11

PostPosted: Jun 28, 2007 8:32am    Post subject: Reply with quote

ok my mail server is setup right - it was my dns -- i forgot to do the @ adn mx & spf in it. is fixed now and going to try doing this one more time.

which makes it my fault not my webmasters.

thank you for pointing that out.

i have so much in the dns i forgot to do the two parts Sad
Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    SearchIRC Forum Index -> IRC Help All times are GMT - 6 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
 
Forum powered by phpBB
 
 © 2000 - 2008 EverythingIRC, Inc. All rights reserved. Please read our disclaimer