|
|
| Author |
Message |
SasukeUchiha Lurker

Joined: 01 Dec 2007 Posts: 104 Location: California
|
Posted: Dec 24, 2007 2:05am Post subject: People wanted to visit there lame site |
|
|
Hello...We've has people come to IRC and post there lame site on the server...Has anyone had a person spam there PM just for you to see it?
Example:
[20:29] <fg> go to www.[deleted].com
And
[20:31] <fg> hey guys, check out a really cool chatsite which has actual people chatting! www.[deleted].com
[20:31] <fg> this place sucks.
[20:31] <fg> go to www.[deleted].com
[20:32] * fg (CW@CW-5D110E29.tampfl.dsl-w.verizon.net) Quit ( Quit: A bientôt ) |
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
katsklaw Guru

Joined: 28 Jun 2004 Posts: 1022
|
Posted: Dec 24, 2007 6:50am Post subject: |
|
|
| This happens all the time on IRC, especially the big nets. There is nothing SearchIRC can do about it except advise you to complain to the admin of the networ you were connected to at the time or if it's netowkr you should learn how to use spamfilters and other tools to help block this stuff. |
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
SkaterStuff Lurker

Joined: 11 Oct 2005 Posts: 156
|
Posted: Dec 28, 2007 3:46pm Post subject: |
|
|
and when you came here and posted there link here you just spammed there site for them  |
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
katsklaw Guru

Joined: 28 Jun 2004 Posts: 1022
|
Posted: Dec 28, 2007 3:49pm Post subject: |
|
|
| SkaterStuff wrote: | and when you came here and posted there link here you just spammed there site for them  |
hopefully here most users are smart enough not to click any of the links. |
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
Jason SearchIRC Developer

Joined: 03 May 2003 Posts: 1124 Location: Tampa, FL
|
Posted: Dec 28, 2007 4:51pm Post subject: |
|
|
| for all I know, the OP could be the spammer, and is using this forum to span in a different venue. I've modified the URL so we don't help the spammer out. |
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
mthwgrn none

Joined: 09 Dec 2007 Posts: 28
|
Posted: Dec 29, 2007 11:41pm Post subject: not in this case |
|
|
I'm not sure who the person is who started this thread. But I remember that log he posted from my network. Someone entered our network through the java on our site and spammed. It was pretty lame.
Just FYI, it was the netadmin of irc network [zap!], a chatspace network (windows). I went to his network as I spoke with him about linking his chat sites to mine probably a week before. He klined me and sent me a message to remove his links from my site because I was the spammer. LOL
I think he was angry because I posted his hostname and asked him why he spammed me in front of his other admins. Jason, I think I have the logs if for some reason someone is curious to see it. As I said I am not sure who the thread starter is and my network is small so I'll ask around and see if it is anyone of my admins. But like you said it could be the owner of the spammed web site trying to be sly.
And also, thanks mods for deleting the url from the thread starter. |
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
|